We’ve been around since 1702, how about you?

Are you of legal drinking age in your country?

Please drink responsibly © 2023 Copyright John Martin’s Brewery. All Rights reserved. By submitting this form, you agree to be bound by the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

0 Cart Close

Cart

€0.00
0
There are no more items in your cart
en

Search

Close
Try to search our catalog, you may find what you are looking for!

Blended beers, such as Bourgogne des Flandres, were created in Bruges. Historically, brewers added freshly brewed beer to older beer in barrels which had become acidic after maturing. This made it possible to keep it for longer, and to also make it accessible to all palates. This is where the old Flemish browns were born with a taste so distinctly “sweet and sour”.

Bourgogne des Flandres

Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction

Bruges, the home of Flemish red beers with a fruity nose and sweet and sour flavours.

Bourgogne des Flandres was born in 1911 of a judicious mix of young and old beers so as to achieve a perfect balance between the fruit and the acidity of these beers. This tradition was born in West Flanders, and especially in Bruges. At the time, Bourgogne des Flandres beer was only available in bottles, a sign of exceptional beer and a testament to the brewer’s expertise. Indeed, the Van Houtryve family was greatly admired in Bruges at the time and owned 3 breweries: La Marine, Den Ezele and the Den Os brewery, where Bourgogne des Flandres beer took root.


The 1900s were very difficult for the Belgian brewing community. And all the more so following the Second World War, during which many breweries were looted by German troops in search of metal for their artillery. The Den Os brewery finally closed its doors in 1957 - the last brewery to leave Bruges. The Van Houtryve family then turned to the Timmermans brewery, a stone’s throw from Brussels and well known for its lambic beer, in order to perpetuate their fabulous Bourgogne des Flandres beer. They then created a high fermentation brown beer, the Bruinen Os, using young lambic from the Timmermans brewery so as to restore this balance between the fruit in the new beer and the acidity of the older beer matured in wooden barrels. Lambic is a spontaneous fermentation beer that can only be brewed in the Senne valley. That used for Bourgogne des Flandres has spent more than 12 months ageing in oak barrels to give it its characteristic aromas of brett, citrus, green apples and wood.


It was not until the 21st century that the Bourgogne des Flandres beer was brewed again in the very heart of Bruges, thanks to Anthony Martin. Under the roofs of his protected building, the brewer is busy at his vats brewing this fruity Flemish brown beer. By deciding to use an open fermentation tank, Anthony Martin’s team honours ancestral techniques.  In an open vat, yeasts work differently and are less stressed, resulting in more fruity aromas.  A real spectacle for the eyes to contemplate the evolution of the wort...

It was in the early 2020s that brewers from the Bourgogne des Flandres brewery broke new ground with a blonde version by creating a high fermentation blonde beer, the Blonden Os, using the famous lambic from the Timmermans brewery. Once again, it is a remarkable balance between the acidity of the lambic and the fruity and spicy aromas of the Blonden Os. This beer is unique!

the authentic taste of Bruges .

Our range Our range Our range Our range Our range Our range Our range Our range Our range Our range Our range
Belgian Grape Ale
Top pick!

Belgian Grape Ale

€15.90

    Blonden Os

    Blonden Os

    €1.75

      Blonden Os Glass 33cl

      Blonden Os Glass 33cl

      €3.90

      Bourgogne des Flandres

      Bourgogne des Flandres

      €1.75

        Bourgogne des Flandres Blonde

        Bourgogne des Flandres Blonde

        €1.75

          BREWERS' DESIRE 2022 - Bruinen Os Lambic Barrel Aged

          BREWERS' DESIRE 2022 - Bruinen Os Lambic Barrel Aged

          €11.00

            Bruinen Os
            Available only at the brewery

            Bruinen Os

              Grand Cru 3L
              Top pick!

              Grand Cru 3L

              €67.90

                Pack Blonden Os

                Pack Blonden Os

                €14.90

                Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal

Nous existons depuis 1702, et vous ?

Avez-vous l'âge légal pour consommer de l'alcool dans votre pays de résidence

Notre savoir-faire se déguste avec sagesse © 2023 Copyright John Martin’s Brewery. Tous droits réservés. En renvoyant ce formulaire, vous acceptez de vous conformer aux conditions d'utilisation et à la politique de confidentialité.

0 Panier Fermer

Panier

0,00 €
0
Il n'y a plus d'articles dans votre panier
fr

Recherche

Fermer
Essayez de chercher dans notre catalogue, vous trouverez peut-être ce que vous cherchez !

Les bières de coupage, telle que la Bourgogne des Flandres, trouvent leurs racines à Bruges. Historiquement, les brasseurs ajoutaient dans les tonneaux de la bière fraichement brassée à la bière plus ancienne qui était devenue acide suite à la maturation. Ceci permettait de la conserver davantage, et également de la rendre accessible à tous les palais. C'est de là que sont nés les vieilles brunes flamandes au goût si typique 'aigre-doux'.

Bourgogne des Flandres

Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction Introduction

Bruges, le berceau de l'histoire des bières rouges flamandes au nez fruité et aux arômes aigres-doux.

La Bourgogne des Flandres est née en 1911 d'un judicieux mélange de bières jeune et vieille de façon à atteindre un équilibre parfait entre le fruit et l'acidité de celles-ci. Cette tradition est née en Flandres occidentale, et tout particulièrement à Bruges. A l'époque, la bière Bourgogne des Flandres était uniquement disponible en bouteille, signe de bières d'exception et témoignage d'expertise du brasseur. En effet, la famille Van Houtryve était très admirée à Bruges à cette époque et détenait 3 brasseries : La Marine, Den Ezele en la brasserie Den Os, où la bière Bourgogne des Flandres prit racine.

Les années 1900 furent très compliquées pour le milieu brassicole belge. Et d'autant plus suite à la deuxième guerre mondiale pendant laquelle de nombreuses brasseries seront pillées par les troupes allemandes en quête de métaux pour leurs artilleries. C'est finalement en 1957 que la brasserie Den Os ferma ses portes; la dernière brasserie à quitter Bruges. La famille Van Houtryve se tourne alors vers la brasserie Timmermans, située à deux pas de Bruxelles et bien connue pour leur lambic, afin de péréniser leur fabuleuse bière Bourgogne des Flandres. Ils assembleront alors une bière brune de haute fermentation, la Bruinen Os, avec du lambic jeune de la brasserie Timmermans de façon à retrouver cet équilibre entre le fruit de la bière nouvelle et l'acidité de la bière plus ancienne maturée sur tonneaux de bois. Le lambic est une bière de fermentation spontanée uniquement brassable dans la vallée de la Senne. Celui utilisé pour la Bourgogne des Flandres a vieilli plus de douze mois dans des futs en chêne pour lui conférer ses arômes particuliers de brett, citrus, pommes vertes et bois.

C'est au début des années 2020 que les brasseurs de la brasserie Bourgogne des flandres innovent avec une version blonde en assemblant une bière blonde de haute fermentation, la Blonden Os, avec le fameux lambic de la brasserie Timmermans. C'est à nouveau un équilibre surpenant entre l'acidité du lambic et les arômes fruités et épicés de la Blonden Os. C'est une bière unique !

Le goût authentique de Bruges.

Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme Notre gamme
Belgian Grape Ale
A la une !

Belgian Grape Ale

15,90 €

Blonden Os

Blonden Os

1,75 €

Bourgogne Des Flandres

Bourgogne Des Flandres

1,75 €

Bourgogne des Flandres Blonde

Bourgogne des Flandres Blonde

1,75 €

BREWERS' DESIRE 2022 - Bruinen Os Lambic Barrel Aged

BREWERS' DESIRE 2022 - Bruinen Os Lambic Barrel Aged

11,00 €

Bruinen Os
Disponible uniquement à la brasserie

Bruinen Os

Grand Cru 3L
A la une !

Grand Cru 3L

67,90 €

Pack Blonden Os

Pack Blonden Os

14,90 €

Verre Blonden Os 33cl

Verre Blonden Os 33cl

3,90 €

Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal Journal